Evaluation on Teaching Practice – Week 8

October 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm Leave a comment

Before you read my evaluation, have a look on my lesson plan –  10 October   to get a picture of my activity.

I started a new lesson on Communicating – Email.

My objective at the end of the lesson, students should be able to:

  • Explain what e-mail is.
  • Differentiate e-mail and ordinary postal mail.
  • Demonstrate on how to use e-mail.

At Introduction phase, I asked them do they know about e-mail.  They said “yes…” so I tested their knowledge if they can explain what is e-mail.  All of them kept silent.

I moved on to start a presentation slide  on the definition of e-mail.  I asked Iqhwan to read it aloud and asked him to  explained but he failed to explain it.

From its definition, I extracted out the word “sending” and “receiving”.  I asked the students to translate it into Malay language, then Badriah offered herself answering that “sending” is “menyampaikan” and “receiving” is “menerima”.  Once again, I read on the definition while pointing on the picture of an envelope with @ symbol, as well as a picture of the 4 laptops connecting each other to a globe with @ symbol.

Next, to get them an idea of e-mail I continued with a slide that showing ‘Ordinary postal mail’ which consists of steps of mail system using pictures.  I asked them whether they ever sent a letter to their friend via post office and it surprised me that they never did.  (I was surprised because I did at their age).

I handed to them on ‘Activity 1- Ordinary Postal Mail’, a piece of paper and an envelope.  Then I decided the sender and receiver as below:

Azim as a sender and Badriah as his receiver.

Iqhwan as a sender and Rashid as his receiver.

Badriah as a sender and Iqhwan as her receiver.

Rashid as a sender and Azim as his receiver.

This activity is aimed as ‘role play’ so that they would get an idea of how the mail system works.  The purpose of their writing is to request their friend’s e-mail address.  Afterwards, they could connect using their e-mail.

Once they finished their writing, I played my role as a stamp seller.  The table where I sat was a post office, and at the left hand side of the table would be a post box.

I asked them “After you completed writing a letter and put it in an envelope, writing your friend’s name and the address; by referring to this slide, what would you do next?” while I pointed to the picture of ordinary postal mail.  “you ride on a car, right?” “Then, where do you go?”  “”Lets imagine yourself as in this picture”.

Azim made a go first.  He came to me and acting himself by  giving his letter to me.  I looked upon the address of where to.  “Ohh..this would cost you 20 cents”  I sticked  20 cents stamp on his envelope, gave it back to him and asked him to insert it in the post box.  He went back to home.  This process repeated when the rest of the students did.

Referring back to the ‘ordinary postal mail’, “we completed these 2 steps.  The letter you sent would be processed by the post office and would be sent to the other post office if you addressed it to outside of Tutong district, let’s say to Brunei Muara district”.

“Now, I changed my character.  I act as a postman”.  I looked upon the address on their envelope and act myself traveling to their place, giving their envelope.  They opened it and read on it.  I asked “Rashid, did you get a letter from Iqhwan?” “yes…” he answered.  I asked again to another student “Iqhwan, did you receive a letter from Badriah?”  “Yes teacher” he answered.

“Do you all get the idea of how the mail system works?”.  “Yes teacher….” They all answered.  I guessed they all know then after they did a role play.

After about 30 minutes had passed, I continued to next slide “How to use e-mail?”  I gave them Practical 1-Using Electronic Mail’ and asked them to do it by referring the steps on my slide.  This practical is aimed whether they can demonstrate on how to use e-mail.  This practical 1 only consists of composing a new message and sending it out.

I observed them individually,

Firstly, they able to sign in into their e-mail account.

Secondly, they able to find ‘new’ link to compose a new message.

Thirdly, while typing in the e-mail address of their friends; only Azim and Iqhwan able to finish and continued to typing the message and sent it.  While Badriah and Rashid, I saved a draft for them and would be continued to the next class as the time was not permitted.

I continued my evaluation next week.

Due to limited time, I couldn’t give out the Exercise 1 which should be finished by this week.

A copy of Activity 1 and Practical 1 can be retrieved in “Box” application on the right hand side.

Entry filed under: Teaching Practice.

Visual Learning Tool Learning Strategies and Mnemonics

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Objective

This blog aims to share ideas among educators on how to improve teaching skills in this 21st Century.

~CALENDAR 2012~

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Previously posted

Recent Posts

ShoutMix me here….

Categories


